Polytechnic campus History

In the fall of 1996, Arizona State University opened its Polytechnic campus (originally called ASU East) on the former Williams Air Force Base, with nearly 1,000 students enrolled in one of the eight degrees offered. The small campus started with two schools -- School of Technology, and School of Management and Agribusiness. East College was added in 1997 as an incubator for new professional programs.

Today, more than 9,700 students are enrolled in more than 40 degree programs. ASU shares more than 600 acres at Power and Williams Field roads with Chandler-Gilbert Community College, Mesa Community College, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, an Air Force research laboratory and a Maricopa County elementary school. These entities make up what is known as the Williams Campus.

As the needs of the university and community evolve, so too does the campus. In July 2005, the campus changed its name from ASU East to ASU's Polytechnic campus to better reflect the mission of the programs at the campus. Programs such as the multidisciplinary Bachelor of Science in Engineering offer students even more practical degree choices.

ASU's Polytechnic campus will continue its evolution as a premier polytechnic in the region, and a competitive force for the Williams area.