ASU Law creates annual award to recognize outstanding judicial service in Maricopa County

Monday, February 12, 2018

To help recognize outstanding judicial service at the local level, the Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law at Arizona State University has created a new honor: the Maricopa County Superior Court Judicial Officer of the Year Award.

The award will be given to a Maricopa County Superior Court judge or commissioner who has made outstanding contributions to serve the community, the residents of Maricopa County or to improve the judicial system.

Ray English, ASU Law’s assistant dean overseeing the Office of Career and Employment Services, noted that accolades are often given to federal and appellate judges. This award, he said, was created to honor the judicial officers on the front lines of one the largest court systems in the country.

“Our goal is to recognize the huge part of our legal community that sometimes is underappreciated, which is commissioners and trial judges,” English said. “They deal with the public more than anybody else on a day-in and day-out basis, and they do great things within Maricopa County. They have a significant impact on the community, and we want to recognize their outstanding accomplishments.”

The criteria for the nominees are:

  • Has gone above and beyond to serve the community, the residents of Maricopa County, or to improve the judicial system, and has demonstrated a sustained commitment to the community
  • Has performed community service work that has made a positive and significant impact on Maricopa County or its residents
  • Has improved the quality of life or the judicial system in their community through civic involvement
  • Is an active member of the Maricopa County Superior Court bench

Anyone may submit a nomination, which must be made in writing by completing the award nomination form. In addition to the form, nominations may also include a letter, no more than 250 words, further describing the nominee’s qualifications. The deadline is Feb. 23.

A selection committee will choose the winner, who will be honored April 11 at ASU Law’s annual Maricopa County Superior Court Judicial Reception.